The University of Montana’s head football coach Robin Pflugrad has been named one of 20 finalists for the 25th Eddie Robinson Award, which honors the national coach of the year in the Football Championship Subdivision.

Pflugrad, who has guided Montana to a 9-2 record so far this season, is one of 20 FCS coaches who combined for 14 conference championships this season.

“Every accolade and every honor that anyone associated with our team receives is definitely a reflection of the success that our team has experienced so far this season and is shared by all of us,” said Pflugrad. “It starts first with our senior class that has shown a tremendous amount of leadership throughout the 2011 season. It is also due of course to all of our football players, along with our outstanding coaching staff.”

The winner of the Robinson Award, presented by The Sports Network and sponsored by, will be announced at the national awards banquet on Friday, Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas - the night before the national championship game.

A panel of over 150 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will select the Robinson Award winner. Voting will reflect only the regular season.

Montana Sports Information --

More From KMPT-AM