The Independent Journal Review reported that the United States has implemented the REAL ID Act which has the possibility of making domestic travel more difficult.

According to the Department of Homeland Security, REAL ID is a federal mandate that sets a national standard for identification documents. They say that all federal agencies must participate but states don't necessarily have to.

The IJR says that,

"This means the Transportation Security Administration will not be allowing passengers who do not have driver's licenses compliant with the new DHS REAL ID standards or other forms of acceptable identification, such as passports, through security checkpoints. The cost to obtain or renew a passport varies, but it can be over $100."

In the IJR article, SimpleMost reported that these are the 8 noncompliant states that will need to find a new form of identification.

  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Washington

Montana and the remaining seven states will need to find an alternative ID source prior to Jan. 22, 2018.

To read the full article by the Independent Journal Review click HERE!

More From KMPT-AM