Newly elected Missoula County officials took their oaths of office on Tuesday afternoon in the County Administration building, surrounded by family, supporters, friends and well-wishers.

First to take his oath of office was T.J. McDermott, Missoula's new county sheriff. By McDermott's request, District Judge Ed McLean administered the oath of office. McDermott spoke to the crowd after the ceremony and said he wanted to begin the healing process within the sheriff's office right away.

"I take my responsibility of being sheriff very seriously," McDermott said. "I'm very excited to be in a position to bring the department back together, and lead the department in a positive direction."

Also sworn into office on Tuesday were Kirsten Pabst as Missoula's new County Attorney, Justices of the Peace Karen Orzech and Marie Anderson, County Commissioner Cola Roley, Clerk and Recorder Tyler Gernant and Erin Lipkin, Missoula County's new Superintendent of Schools.

In attendance were Montana's Attorney General Tim Fox, former county commissioner Barbara Evans, current commissioners Jean Curtiss and Bill Carey, District Judge John Larson, and a host of friends and supporters that filled the basement meeting room in the County Administration building.

Absent from the ceremony were Sheriff Carl Ibsen and Undersheriff Josh Clark.

Attached, find the audio from the complete swearing in ceremony

Also, the first published interview with Missoula County Sheriff T.J. McDermott